Natural Light

For our photography project during the rotation period, we we told to focus on natural light. This can be interpreted in many ways; you can create portraits, studying how light hits a face, or explore the world of natural landscapes, particularly the changing colours of the sky during sunset.

DSC_0214

DSC_0278

On a bright, sunny Sunday, I took a camera out to my garden to see what captured the beauty of natural light. After being giving strict instructions to not photograph landscapes, or animals, I decided to look at buildings and similar structures. My garden shed seemed like a good place to start. I was drawn to the windows, due to the slight worn and damaged look of the window frames. The wood has been worked by natural causes over the years; this gives it quite delicate markings and indentations. I like the rawness of the surface, and when the light hits it, these intricate details came through clearly and boldly.

When looking closer, I discovered a large number of spider’s webs. Despite spiders being seen as a pest my many, the structures they create really are beautiful. The light makes them glitter at times, and even makes them look soft, tempting you to touch them. This is seen in the two images below. The gentleness of the cobwebs contrasts with the rough wooden surface of the shed, so when combined they create an interesting composition.

DSC_0280

DSC_0222

I was happy with how the image below came out. Like mentioned before, the wooden surface was really interesting to capture due to the varying layers. With this photograph, there is a dominant and clear shadow which creates a bold contrast with the natural light hitting the other side of the wooden edge. The light cuts across the top of the side in the foreground, creating a sharp and crisp edge. I also liked how strong the reflection is. The subtle grooves in the wood are matched by the fragility of the glass itself. In this case, both glass and beaten down wood are weak, but can create captivating images. I wanted the focus to be on the details on the surface in the foreground, and the obvious reflection in the glass, so I was pleased with how the background was blurred out ensuring attention is on the centre.

DSC_0322

This whole process took a lot of trial and error. I took over 200 images, working with the manual setting on the camera. I adjusted the shutter speed and aperture to try and get the best result possible, experimenting with all kinds of compositions. Many of the photographs I took were not perfect, ranging from being far too dark, too light or too blurry. I think it’s important to take the time when trying out new processes and to not give up too quickly. By the end, I felt much more comfortable with how the camera worked and produced some images I was really pleased with.

DSC_0246

This entry was published on October 2, 2014 at 4:00 pm. It’s filed under Experiments, Rotation Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

